Can Children Cope with the Academic Pressure?? An Insight into Early Schooling!

Being parents, how much do we understand the difference between the necessity of early education and academic successes for our children? Making our kids a winner, do we jail them in a 24hrs-7days a week a mind-juggling and menial institution called “School”!?

I guess, the normal daily routine for any school kid would start as such:

Monday: Wake Up, Take an early breakfast, 8hrs long school, EC Activity, Special Classes (language, Math etc), Homework
Tuesday: Wake Up, Take an early breakfast, 8hrs long school, EC Activity, Special Classes (language, Math etc), Homework
Wednesday: Wake Up, Take an early breakfast, 8hrs long school, EC Activity, Special Classes (language, Math etc), Homework
Thursday: Wake Up, Take an early breakfast, 8hrs long school, EC Activity, Special Classes (language, Math etc), Homework
Friday: Wake Up, Take an early breakfast, 8hrs long school, EC Activity, Special Classes (language, Math etc), Homework
Saturday: Wake Up, Take an early breakfast, EC Activity, Special Classes (language, Math etc), Homework
Sunday: Wake Up, Take an early breakfast, EC Activity, Special Classes (language, Math etc), Homework

We wish seeing our kids being successful! Most of us help them being one, sometimes we make them!

Kids aren’t afraid of loosing, but we are. The expectations we plow from their future career are so intense and the fear of loosing is such fierce among kids that they forget who they are and what they actually want. They became a robotic transcend -working like a pendulum, from home to school, every second. Great Percentage, EC Medals, Merit in Fairs and Competition are few minimum required qualities for today’s children.

The pressure is wildly adverse in the Asia. Especially, India, China and S.Korea, where the Schools fight with each other for higher enrollment. The job and future career depends upon what a student achieves in the examination. The merit based percentage defines the talent, ability and creativity of an employee. Unfortunately, small kids are not spared in the league of Merit and Marks, or of Success and Falter. Aamir Khan, in Taare Zameen Par, has shown the real scenario of Indian Schooling System and the state of low performing kid. School prepare children to compete, but they do very less to enrich their creativity. Aamir’s other movie, 3 Idiots shows the miserable condition of Engineering Students in India.

It’s true actually, we never enroll kids into some Creative Class, because it’s a waste of time! In this fast paced world, we need competition, success, and need to secure a high paying job in the future for our kids.

I’ve seen kids confined in inside the four walls of their room. Day and Night, the books are open and the mind is continuously moving, to and forth, to catch the rhythm of the some Science Theory or a Mathematical formula, or on some English Lesson Report.

What I can’t understand is, why can’t they enjoy one day of their week, why do we steal their holiday from them and throw them to some special class or training course. After compelling 6 days of gruesome work, do they deserve an extra class instead of a break?

I considered myself one of the brightest student in the school, that’s what my teachers considered me too. Suddenly, I failed an exam, and the consequences were disastrous. What I got from my Dad? A load of scolding, threats, and a confinement inside the four walls of my very room, till I could better my grades. I was scared Shit, and I had no other option but to better my grades and move on. I never got a platitude success afterward. I achieved my first big break when I hit my associate degree. I was smart, outwit, and a talented asset of my school. Things changed after that. I realized my potential for the first time, and the best thing was, I worked for it. I worked for my success. All that was merit that made my people surrounding me happy.

Frederique Autin, PhD, a postdoctoral researcher at the University of Poitiers in Poitiers, France, said once,

We focused on a widespread cultural belief that equates academic success with a high level of competence and failure with intellectual inferiority, By being obsessed with success, students are afraid to fail, so they are reluctant to take difficult steps to master new material. Acknowledging that difficulty is a crucial part of learning could stop a vicious circle in which difficulty creates feelings of incompetence that in turn disrupts learning.

Leave a Reply

